East Africa



East African Community - East African Community Scholarships Movemeback African initiative cover image


The EAC Scholarship Programme is an initiative of the East African Community (EAC), the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) and German Development Bank- KfW. The project begun in 2018 when the EAC and IUCEA entered into a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with KfW geared towards the training of students within the EAC Region. This Project aims at creating future change agents, who identify themselves with the integration agenda of the EAC and are willing to share economic and development-oriented expert knowledge.

The goal of this initiative is to contribute towards training leaders that will foster the EAC Regional integration. This goal will be partly achieved through the establishment of academic collaboration and an exchange programme between universities/institutions within the EAC Region, by encouraging students to study in countries other than their own. In order to achieve these impacts, the project offers a comprehensive package including scholarships for Master’s programmes, internships, mentoring, networking events and further leadership training activities. The scholarship will support Master’s students in Mathematics, Engineering, Informatics, Science,Technology and Business Science programmes.


The minimum requirements for qualification into the programme are:

  • Be a citizen of a partner state of the East African Community;
  • Possess the required academic qualifications for admission to the programme (at least at the level of Upper Second Class Honours or “Distinction” as applicable;
  • Submit a motivation letter in English, well written, demonstrates a convincing motivation for wanting to pursue the Master’s Programme chosen, adequately demonstrates the applicant’s foreseen professional engagement in EAC Integration agenda after completing the Master’s Programme, demonstrates how they expect to apply the acquired skills and knowledge from the Master’s Programme to contribute to the EAC Integration Agenda and demonstrates where they anticipate to see themselves professionally and academically
  •  Be below 35 years of age
  • Have obtained admission from a university in another country in the EAC Region other than their university


  • The project offers financial support to academically skilled and disadvantaged Master’s students with the main focus on priority areas

The scholarship covers:

  • University tuition fees: payable directly to the university according to an official invoice
  • Stipend of EUR380 per month to support living expenses including housing, food, utilities, local transportation and settlement expenses
  • Allowances   for study materials and research of EUR 1,500 one- off allowance
  • Medical insurance
  • Extracurricular events at least one event per year

About East African Community

EAC is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Burundi with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30th November 1999 and entered into force on 7th July 2000 following its ratification by the Original 3 Partner States – Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18th June 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1st July 2007.

The EAC aims at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in, among others, political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit. To this extent the EAC countries established a Customs Union in 2005 and are working towards the establishment of a Common Market by 2010, subsequently a Monetary Union by 2012 and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States.

The realization of a large regional economic bloc encompassing Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda with a combined population of more than 125 million people, land area of 1.82 million sq kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product of $60 billion (2008*), bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects of a renewed and reinvigorated East African Community.